Soda Cupcakes

Don’t these cupcakes look so yummy? Not only are they yummy, they are healthy! Plus they only take 2 ingredients to make. I found the recipe on Skinny Mom.  They are the yummiest, most moist, healthy cupcakes I have ever had. Once you try them, there will be no need to ever use eggs and oil again.

Pin It

Makes 24 cupcakes

Ingredients:
•1 box Pilsbury Moist Supreme Strawberry cake mix
•12 oz. Sierra Mist Free
•1 tub of Cool Whip Free (8 ounce size)
•1 box of Jello pudding mix (Sugar-Free, Fat-Free 1 ounce size)
•Red food coloring(optional)
•1/4 cup
•rainbow sprinkles(optional)

Directions:

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cupcake pan with cupcake liners or spray with a non-stick spray.
2.In a medium bowl mix cake mix and soda. Stir for 2 -3 minutes until well-blended. Place mixture into cupcake liners about 2/3 full.
3.Bake for 18-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
4.While cupcakes are baking mix the contents of the Jello pudding mix with the full container of Cool Whip pudding mix. Stir until blended. Add a few drops of food coloring for color. Refrigerate for 1 hour.
5.After cupcakes have cooled, ice the cupcakes with Cool Whip mixture and top with sprinkles.

Nutrition Info (1 cupcake without sprinkles): Calories: 105, Fat: 2g, Carbohydrates: 18g, Dietary Fiber: 3g, Protein: .5g

I ended up using my family, our friends, and their kids as guinea pigs. Everyone loved these cupcakes. And after tasting them myself, I feel in love! Then I wondered: would this work with other flavored cupcakes….

Chocolate: It wasn’t as sweet as usual but was still yummy. Probably would have made up for the sweetness if chocolate chips were added.  Because the original recipe didn’t say whether to use instant or regular pudding mix I wanted to compare. The regular mix (not instant) was AMAZING! The only downside is that it didn’t hold its form like the instant. I think that because the instant solidifies faster, it makes for a better frosting.

Lemon: Once again-AMAZING! I made the frosting with instant pudding in lemon flavor instead of vanilla. And to add a little fun I made the cupcakes rainbow (rainbow cupcakes).

Although the cupcakes were as moist and tasty no matter the flavor used, I did find the lemon lime flavor of the soda better complimented the fruit flavors more.  Next time I make a cake I’m going to use this method and see what happens. I hope you love this recipe as much as I do!

Have a great day and keep on crafting!

Leave me a message....

