Hair Clip & Headband Holder

My kids adore hair clips. So much so, that their bathroom was becoming over run with them. I have seen this idea done in a lot of different ways so I decided to try my own. Since I also needed a way to hang all their headbands I also added a few headband holders at the bottom.

What you will need:

  • large wooden photo frame (I found this one at Goodwill for $1.00)
  • spray paint
  • matching ribbon
  • glue gun
  • scissors

Before we begin make sure your work surface is protected.

Start by taking the glass and backing out of your frame.  Then spray painting your frame the color you want. I chose a pastel yellow (be sure to follow all safety instructions on the can). Allow to dry completely.

Grab that ribbon. Find the middle of your frame and attach ribbon with your glue gun to the inside of the frame where the glass would usually sit.

Attach ribbon at both ends being sure to keep the ribbon so it is taunt.

*To help keep them evenly spaced without using a ruler, glue the first ribbon in the center of the frame. Then add a strip on each end, then the next 2 splitting the outside ribbons. Continue this until the blank spaces are filled and you have the amount you’d like*

Keep in mind that there needs to be enough room between each ribbon for the clips.

After the glue has cooled flip over the frame to be sure you’re happy with the placement. If not, just yank the ribbon off and try again-the joy of hot glue.

I added a silk flower in the corner of the frame for a little extra girl power. If you are OK with just hanging clips, you can stop here.

If you’d like to add-on headband holders, grab your ribbon again. Measure 2″ down on your ribbon. This is where the first loop will be.

  1. Pinch ribbon together to make a loop large enough for headbands to fit. Glue loop closed.
  2. Glue loop bottom down to secure.
  3. Continue step 1-2 until you have reached the desired length.
  4. After last loop is completed, cut ribbon so it is hidden under loop.

Since it’s a square frame, you’ll need to make at least 2 of these strips to help balance the frame. Glue the loop strip to the back of frame, one on each end.  I attached my ribbon a little off to fit the area where I was hanging the frame.  If you are only interested in one row, attach to the center of the frame.

Hang your frame and you’re ready to add those clips and headbands.

Now just add your hair clips and you are ready! Speaking of hair clips, don’t you just love these? Check out my Flower Hair Clip Tutorial  to make your very own.

Thanks for stopping by! Keep on crafting!

One thought on “Hair Clip & Headband Holder

  1. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am inspired! Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I maintain such info a lot. I used to be seeking this certain info for a very lengthy time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave me a message....

